How To Deactivate And Delete Your Instagram Account

The pink and white social media with a staggering 800 million users is a fantastic place for sharing photos and staying updated about your friends and family. Besides, the continuous supply of images around topics that lift your spirits – sports, foods, celebrities – are out there to sweeten things up even more.

 

That said, those of you who find Instagram a drag aren’t alone or far from the truth. Perhaps you’re tired of posing and capturing every single moment, overwhelmed with the strain of juggling accounts, or simply wasting your time watching cat videos. And now that you’ve finally decided to get rid of this app, you have 2 options at your disposal – deleting or deactivating.

 

Deleting and deactivating are entirely different things.  And if you’re determined on kissing your account goodbye, I won’t convince you otherwise. But if you’re unaware of the alternative called deactivation, you’re about to learn something new. Let’s get started:

 

Deleting Instagram Permanently

 

Deleting will permanently erase everything associated with your account, such as your photos, profile, followers, likes, videos etc. If you want to eliminate Instagram altogether or start over, then this is your go-to. Perhaps you deleted the app some time ago, but your information is still out there – it’s probably the best to delete it if you’re determined of never returning. But before you delete your content, it’s always safe to back them up first. Use a 3rd-party solution called Instaport and follow the below instructions to back things up:

 

  • Go to Instaport and sign in.
  • Click to authorize access to your account.
  • Pick your export options. There are lots of options.
  • Hit ‘Start Export’ to get the archive as a zip file.
  • Unpack the zip file from your local hard drive.

 

Deactivate / Temporarily Disable Instagram

 

Regardless of the underlying reason, deactivating your account hides your profile, photos, and contents until you log back in. And in case you’re wondering, YES, your followers stay unbudged unless someone unfollows you.

 

Privacy Alternative

 

If your main reason for pondering the deletion or deactivation is stopping someone from seeing your photos, you can always opt for a private account where only approved people can see your content. While stepping away from social networks permanently seems a bit extreme, we understand that some find it perfect for protecting their privacy. For those of you hell-bent on deleting your account, I encourage you to read on.

 

How to Temporarily Disable an Instagram Account

 

  • Go to instagram.com and log in.
  • Click your username at the top right.
  • Click the ‘Edit profile’ beside your username.
  • Scroll down and find ‘Temporarily disable my account’ near the bottom-right.
  • Choose why you’re disabling your account from the drop-down menu.
  • Check the ‘To continue, please re-enter your password’ box and re-enter your password
  • Click on ‘Temporarily Disable Account.’

 

And you’re done. Note that, you can disable your account once a week.

 

How to Delete Your Instagram Account

 

  • Fire up your browser on the computer. Mobile browsers work too, but the computer browser is for better navigation. You can’t delete accounts from the phone app.
  • Visit Instagram.com and log in.
  • Go to the ‘Delete Your Account page’.
  • Choose why you’re deleting the account at the pull-down menu.
  • Re-enter password in the new field.
  • Hit ‘Permanently delete my account’ near the bottom of the page and you’re done.

 

 

instagram bot

 

 

About the Author:

 

 

Mehedi is a freelance writer/blogger helping businesses grow with red-hot content. You can visit his site PowerhouseBlogger for actionable business tips. And if you want Mehedi to help you with content, you can hit him up on Facebook or Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *